/\

AD

Former Spanish tennis player Juan Carlos Ferrero has kept one foot on the tennis court since his retirement. Photo: Shutterstock
Former Spanish tennis player Juan Carlos Ferrero has kept one foot on the tennis court since his retirement. Photo: Shutterstock

21 questions to tennis profil Juan Carlos Ferrero

Former Spanish tennis player Juan Carlos Ferrero has kept one foot on the tennis court since his retirement. In March, he will take on some of his former competitors in the Stockholm event Kings of Tennis.

What’s your name and where do you live?
I live in Villena, 60km northwest of Alicante, Spain.

What was the destination of your latest journey, and where will you be traveling next?
My latest trip was to the Netherlands, and the next one will be to Stockholm for Kings of Tennis in March. Both for business.

Juan Carlos Ferrero Donat

Born: Onteniente, Spain
Age: 37
Highest ranking singles: 1 (2003)
ATP titles: 16
Davis Cup titles: 1

Family?
Wife Eva and daughter Vega.

What’s your profession?
I’m a retired professional tennis player but I’ve started playing the champions tour again. I simply wanted to compete again and see my friends from the tour. I own the Hotel Ferrero, located in Bocairent, Valencia, and have run the tournament Valencia Open 500 since 2013, as well as the JCFerrero-Equelite Sports Academy in Villena.

Kings of tennis

See Ferrero and other tennis legends at Kings of Tennis in Stockholm, 8-10 March. This year’s players are Juan Carlos Ferrero, Jonas Björkman, Arnaud Clément, Magnus Larson, Robin Söderling and Mark Philippoussis.

kingsoftennis.se

What’s the biggest accomplishment or proudest moment of your career?
It’s difficult to choose only one, but my best moment is when I won the Davis Cup for my country in 2000 – the first ever victory for Spain. And of course when I became World No 1 in 2003.

What are you looking forward to at Kings of Tennis in Stockholm?
I enjoy playing against my old friends on the tour. I’ve met them all and I want revenge for the matches I lost. I will also enjoy visiting Stockholm again.

How much do you travel?
I travel about 10 weeks a year, compared to 25–30 weeks when I was playing on the tour.

Aisle, window, or middle?
Aisle, so I can stand up whenever I want without bothering people sitting next to me.

What do you do when you aren’t working?
I like to play soccer, golf and padel tennis.

How much cash are you carrying at the moment?
€250.

What’s in your pockets right now?
Not much, I’m wearing my pajamas at the moment!

Who’s your best friend and why?
I have several best friends, it’s difficult to pick just one.

What’s your biggest dream?
That my family stays safe and healthy for as long as possible.

What’s your biggest nightmare?
I don’t have any nightmares – I prefer to have a positive mindset.

Finish the following sentence: “A funny thing happened to me on the way to…”
Halle. I was going to play a tournament in Halle, Germany, but landed in another place called Halle – a long way away from where I was supposed to be.

What’s the latest movie you saw or book you read?
I saw the children’s movie Canta [Sing!] with my daughter.

Who’s your biggest idol or role model?
Tiger Woods, I love his attitude.

What would you do if you didn’t do your current profession?
I always dreamed of being a motorbike rider. 

How would your Oscar speech begin?
I would thank all the people who made it possible…

Which city will you return to?
I really like Paris and Rome. Beautiful cities with a culture similar to Spain.

What are your favorite places in Alicante, Spain?
Alicante has some really nice restaurants, such as El Portal, La Taberna del Gourmet and Soho Alicante. They all have a good selection of high-quality food. I would also recommend Playa de San Juan, a long beach with fine sand, just outside Alicante.

elportaltaberna.com
latabernadelgourmet.com
sohoalicante.com